top of page

Blog

Faith's Raw Vegan Chocolate Sesame Seed Flapjacks


Faith's Raw Vegan Chocolate Sesame Seed Flapjacks


Three things I want you to know about me: I loooove good food, I have a sweet tooth and I'm no masterchef. Some of you might relate to what I'm about to say - my journey of culinary creativity and interest runs through peaks and lows. Sometimes I feel totally lazy and uninspired and all I want is something that I can make in -5mins... but when I reach the peak I remember that I love variety and I love to create. Sounds familiar?


I decided to start including some healthy, delish and simple recipes into our blogs to partially serve my own purpose - that is to keep that creativity going with exploration and fun in the kitchen created by others (or myself) and to have a record of those favourite recipes somewhere else other than a piece of paper which I'll never look at :-) ...BUT there's another reason. If I love it and can make these relatively easy delicious meals and snacks, the chances are that YOU might find it inspirational too! Together we can experience the shared mouth watering musical happening in our bodies and listen to the calming 'mmmmm' sound our vocal cords start producing when the taste bud fireworks go off :-)

Enjoy the journey!


Here's the very first recipe taken from a blog created by my dear friend Faith Canter, an author, a medicine woman, a fermenting food lover and maker and generally a woman of greatness. Remember to check her out once you've read this.


Both my mum and I were totally in love with the chocolate variation (which we also then made at home on several occasions) and couldn't get enough of it. And the totally fun part of it is that you can experiment and try this with all sorts of seeds and mix and match as you wish!


Ingredients:

300g sesame seeds

100g chia seeds

50g flax seeds, ground down

50g desiccated coconut

200g dried fruits, like raisins, sultanas, cranberries or goji berries (or dried apricots, prunes or dates...)

200g of tahini or other nut butter

60g of coconut oil, melted

80ml of agave nectar or maple syrup (I've left this one out completely, I found that the dried fruits give it enough sweetness on its own)

10ml of vanilla extract

Pinch of Himalayan or sea-salt

50 – 100g of cacao powder (depending how chocolaty you like it) – Optional!


Directions:

  1. Place all the ingredients in a large mixing bowl and mix well.

  2. If you want to make half the batch chocolate flapjacks then put half the mixture into another bowl and add the cacao and mix well.

  3. Line a baking tray(s) with a liner of your choice and pour the mixture out and pat down well to create a firm flackjack like mixture.

  4. Place in the freezer for 2hrs and then remove and cut into portions and then return to the freezer until wanted. Remove an hour before eating (also optional) or leave in the fridge overnight.


Yours, V x



____________________________________________________________________

Disclaimer: Our aim is to share the above information to help you feel more empowered, make more useful choices, to encourage you to focus on prevention and solutions to stay healthy and increase your resilience and joy of living. This article is provided as an information resource only, and is not to be used or relied on for any diagnostic or treatment purposes. This information is not intended to be patient education, does not create any patient-physician relationship, and should not be used as a substitute for professional diagnosis and treatment.

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Vimeo Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
Categories
Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page